Report on ISE sponsored meeting: 44 Meeting of the Spanish Electrochemistry Group of the Spanish Society of Chemistry + V E3 Mediterranean Symposium (www.44gerseq2024.com)



Scientific Committee

Members of the Electrochemistry Group of the Spanish Society of Chemistry (2023-2024)

José Solla Gullón – Universidad de Alicante

Aránzazu Heras – Universidad de Burgos

Ignacio Sirés – Universidad de Barcelona

Rebeca Marcilla García – IMDEA Energía

Iluminada Gallardo – Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona

Vicente Montiel - Universidad de Alicante

Manuel Blázquez – Universidad de Córdoba

Francisco Javier del Campo – BCMaterials

Idoia Ruiz de Larramedi – Universidad del País Vasco/ Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (UPV/EHU)

Members of the Electrochemistry Division of the Italian Society of Chemistry:

Monica Santamaria – Università degli Studi di Palermo

Christian Durante – Università degli Studi di Padova

Riccardo Ruffo – Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca

Alessandro Minguzzi – Università degli Studi di Milano

Elisabetta Petrucci – Sapienza Università di Roma

ISE Representative in Spain:

María Escudero – Instituto Catalán de Nanociencia y Nanotecnología (ICN2)

Organizing committee

Chairs:

Francisco Javier del Campo (BCMaterials)

Idoia Ruiz de Larramendi (University of the Basque Country, UPV/EHU)

Secretaries:

Eider Goikolea (UPV/EHU)

Daniel Bacigalupe (BCMaterials)

Members:

Verónica Palomares (UPV/EHU)

Jon Rodríguez (UPV/EHU)

Nekane Nieto (UPV/EHU)

Julen Beitia (UPV/EHU)

Arkaitz Fidalgo (UPV/EHU – BCMaterials)

Marina Navarro (BCMaterials)

Rajendra K.R. Gajjala (BCMaterials)

Pello Núñez (BCMaterials)

Rubén Teijido (BCMaterials – UPV/EHU)

Overview and main figures

The 44th Annual meeting of the Electrochemistry Group of the Spanish Society of Chemistry, and the 5th Electrochemistry for Energy and Environment Mediterraneum Symposium (E3MS), two intertwined meetings sharing the interest for new trends on electrochemical technology, took place in Bilbao between the 3rd and 5th of July. The event was jointly organized by BCMaterials, the Basque Center for Materials, Applications and Nanostructures, and the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU). The conference was held at the Faculty of Science and Technology of the University in Leioa, and it gathered over 200 attendants including senior researchers and academics, and students. It is worth stressing that many of these attendants were also ISE members.



An image from the opening ceremony. From left to right, prof. Idoia Ruiz de Larramendi (Chemistry professor at the UPV/EHU); prof. Fernando Plazaola (Dean of the science Faculty of the UPV/EHU), Dr. Adolfo Morais (Viceminister for Science, Universities and Innovation of the Basque Government), Dr. Inmaculada Arostegui (Research Vicerector of the University of the Basque Country), prof. F. Javier del Campo (research professor at BCMaterials), and prof. José Solla (President of the Spanish Electrochemistry Group of the Spanish Chemical Society).

There were 115 talks and over 90 poster presentations, plus 3 plenary lectures. Plenary lectures from prof. Richard G. Compton (University of Oxford), prof. Núria García-Aráez (University of Southampton) and prof. Francesco Paolucci (University of Bologna) addressed topics of importance in the areas of environment and energy, and showed how Electrochemistry is key to both understanding fundamental phenomena and providing practical solutions. These lectures were highly instructive and inspiring, and set the tone to three days if very exciting and fruitful scientific discussions. Additionally, two invited keynote lectures by Prof. Michele Mascia (Università degli Studi di Cagliari) and Prof. Carlo Santoro (Università di Milano-Bicocca) were presented at the joint E3MS, thus strengthening the collaboration between the Spanish Electrochemistry Group and the Italian Division of Electrochemistry.







Left to right: prof. Richard G. Compton, prof. Núria García-Aráez, and prof. Francesco Paolucci.

In addition, there 2 invited keynote talks were given by prof. Michele Mascia (University of Cagliari, IT) and by prof. Carlo Santoro (University of Milano-Bicocca, IT) as part of the V E3 Mediterranean symposium.

Supporting Electrochemistry Education

In addition to the conference scientific activities, the meeting also held the examinations from the inter-university Masters (16 students) and Doctoral (19 students) programs in Electrochemistry: Science and Technology. In addition to these, it is worth noting that 99 attendants to the conference were PhD students enrolled in this or other programs. This just stresses the importance of Electrochemistry training and the commitment of this conference to nurture a strong Electrochemical community.

Encouraging young Electrochemistry talent

The meeting also provided the opportunity to award the annual Electrochemistry prices. The Group typically awards two prices. The Antonio Aldaz Electrochemistry price is aimed to the best thesis in Electrochemistry. This year, the Antonio Aldaz Prize went to Dr. Sara Santiago-Malagón, from the University Autonomous of Barcelona, for her work on electrochromic materials and ionogels.

On the other hand, the Young Talent in Electrochemistry prize this year was awarded to Dr. Paula Sebastián Pascual, from the KTH Royal institute of technology (SE), and to Dr. Sara Barja, from the University of the Basque Country.





Left, Sara Santiago receives the IX Antonio Aldaz Prize in Electrochemistry from prof. Ignacio Sirés, Secretary of the Spanish Electrochemistry Group. Right, Dr. Paula Sebastián and Dr. Sara Barja (at the centre) receive their Young Talent award from prof. José Solla (on the left) and prof. Rebeca Marcilla(right), from the Spanish Electrochemistry Group.

Best posters were also awarded to students Vicent Ayala Andreu and Stephanie J. Martínez, for their work on the design of new reactors for electrolysis and nickel-deposited graphene materials towards more efficient ORR catalysts in alkaline fuel cells, respectively.





Vicent Ayala and Stephanie J. Martínez receiving their best poster awards from prof. Ignacio Sirés.

General Assembly and Next Year's meeting

As is customary in this annual event, the Group dedicated a session to its General Assembly, where the President, Secretary, and Treasurer gave an account of the most important aspects affecting the group during the year, following by the announcement and presentation of next year's Group Meeting, which will be held by the University of La Laguna, in Tenerife (July 2025).

Special Issue in Electrochimica Acta

Also, a special issue of Electrochimica Acta, the official journal of the International Society of Electrochemistry, will give attendants to the meeting the opportunity to publish their work in this prestigious international journal. Invitations have already been sent, and the deadline for the submission of manuscripts is December 15, 2024. All the details can be found on the journal webpage:

https://www-sciencedirect-com.ehu.idm.oclc.org/journal/electrochimica-acta/about/call-for-papers#44-gerseq-5-e3ms-44th-annual-meeting-of-the-rseq-specialized-group-in-electrochemistry-5th-e3-mediterranean-symposium

Conference closure

The closing ceremony was presented by prof. Idoia Ruiz de Larramendi (UPV/EHU), prof. Senentxu Lanceros-Méndez (Scientific director of BCMaterials) and prof. José Solla (Electrochemistry Group from the Spanish Chemical Society of Chemistry).



From left to right, Idoia Ruiz de Larramendi, Senentxu Lanceros-Méndez, and José Solla Gullón.

More information on the conference can be found at: www.44gerseq2024.com