## **Meeting Report**

The 57<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of ISE was held from 31 August to 5 September 2006 at Heriot Watt University in Edinburgh. Collaborating societies at the meeting were the Royal Society of Chemistry (Electrochemistry and Electroanalytical Groups), the Society for Chemical Industry (Electrochemical Technology Group), the Institute of Corrosion and IONMET. The main theme of the meeting was "Innovative Electrochemistry, Enterprising Science", with the goal of representing both the inception of novel intellectual concepts and their subsequent development to applications for the benefit of commerce and society.

The successful 56th Annual Meeting in Korea was organized with symposium themes aligned with the then newly created divisional structure, bringing identity and unity of purpose to the new divisions. With the benefit of this established strength, the symposium themes for the 2006 Annual Meeting were designed to promote inter-divisional synergy and to encourage the combination of expertise from different subdisciplines towards shared goals. Accordingly, the symposia for the meeting were: 1. Batteries and Supercapacitors; 2. Electroanalysis and Sensors; 3. Enterprise and Innovation; 4. Electrochemical Nanotechnology; 5. Electrochemical Engineering & Technology; 6. Liquid-liquid Electrochemistry; 7. Soft Materials in Electrochemistry; 8. Surface Chemistry and Dynamics; 9. Corrosion: from Nanostructure to Structural Failure; 10. Fuel Cells and Sustainable Energy. This special issue contains excellent representatives of presentations from these symposia. Symposium 3 was unusual and attracted considerable interest in that it involved speakers whose contributions were focused on the commercialization of electrochemical science and engineering to major applications as diverse as electric vehicles and diabetes management.

On the Sunday afternoon preceding the main conference, two tutorial sessions were organized. Prof. Johan Deconinck and Prof. Frank Walsh delivered a session on "Potential and Current Distributions in Electrochemical Systems", and Prof. Wolfgang Schuhmann and Prof. Jens Ulstrup delivered a session on "Imaging of Electrochemical Systems". Both these sessions were extremely popular and successful and each was attended by over a hundred delegates.

The meeting was officially opened on the Monday morning by ISE President Prof. Juan Feliu, following his dramatic entry into the auditorium accompanied by a traditional Scottish piper. He then presented the 2005 ISE awards to:

Prof. Boris Damaskin (Frumkin Memorial Medal, accepted on his behalf by Prof. Petrii),

Dr. Shaowei Chen (Tajima Prize),

Dr. Masatoshi Osawa (Prix Jacques Tacussel),

Dr. Shuji Nakanishi and Dr. Dev Chidambaram (Hans-Jürgen Engell Prize),

Mr. Arun Prasad (Oronzio De Nora Foundation Young Author Prize),

Prof. Günther Wittstock (Klaus-Jürgen Vetter Prize for Electrochemical Kinetics),

Dr. Wataru Sugimoto (Oronzio De Nora Foundation Prize of ISE on Electrochemical Energy Conversion),

Dr. Marco Panizza (Oronzio De Nora Foundation Prize of ISE on Electrochemical Technology and Engineering)

and Prof. Rolando Guidelli (Katsumi Niki Prize for Bioelectrochemistry).

Prof. Feliu also announced the 2006 ISE awards:

the Electrochimica Acta Gold Medal to Prof. Andrzej Wieckowski,

the Tajima Prize to Dr. Alain Walcarius,

the Hans-Jürgen Engell Prize to Dr. Monica Santamaria,

the Oronzio De Nora Foundation Young Author Prize to Dr. Vijayasekaran Boovaragavan,

and the Oronzio De Nora Foundation Prize of ISE on Electrochemical Energy Conversion to Dr. Kyung-Won Park.

The Opening Ceremony provided the opportunity for the induction of new ISE Fellows. Prof. Feliu welcomed Profs. R. Alkire, C. Amatore, P. Bartlett, R. Guidelli, R. Hillman, D. Macdonald, T. Osaka and J. Ulstrup to this group; all except Profs. Amatore and MacDonald were able to be present to receive this honour.

There were four plenary lectures. Prof. Peter Bruce (University of St. Andrews, Scotland) spoke on *Electrochemical energy storage*, Prof. Viola Birss (University of Calgary, Canada) spoke on *Solid oxide fuel cells*, Prof. Olle Inganas (Linköping University, Sweden) spoke on *Electroactive polymers in redox devices*, and Prof. Hubert Girault (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland) spoke on *Functionalised liquid/liquid interfaces*. Prof. Girault also received the RSC Faraday Medal. A total of 1262 abstracts were submitted, of which approximately 300 were delivered as oral presentations. The remaining presentations were made in three lively poster sessions.

The stimulating and demanding schedule of electrochemical science and engineering was complemented by a range of social activities including visits to Scotland's spectacular scenery, a traditional Ceilidh, the conference dinner at the Dynamic Earth and the many and varied attractions of the Edinburgh Festival. This diverse and stimulating blend of science and collegiality was experienced by a total of 986 delegates from 48 countries, with strong representation from Europe, North and South America, and Asia. We were also delighted to be able to welcome over 500 non-members and hope that they will join our Society.

I would like to offer my sincere thanks to the members of the Organizing Committee for their diverse and imaginative contributions to the meeting, to the student helpers who brought enthusiasm and conviviality to the proceedings, and to the staff of the ISE Office who developed a completely new infrastructure for the administration of the meeting. On behalf of the Organizing Committee I would like to thank the sponsors and exhibitors who contributed financially to the meeting and to all the delegates who contributed to the technical excellence of the meeting and the friendly spirit in which it took place.

Prof. Rob Hillman Chair, Organizing Committee 57<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the ISE Department of Chemistry University of Leicester Leicester LE1 7RH United Kingdom

Email: arh7@le.ac.uk