Report on the 67th Annual Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry, Den Haag, The Netherlands, 21-26 August 2016

The 67th Annual Meeting of the ISE took place in the Hague (Den Haag, or 's-Gravenhage as it is formally known), the Netherlands, almost three decades after the last meeting (Maastricht, 1987). The venue for this event was the World Forum, conveniently located between the city center of The Hague and Scheveningen beach. The meeting was attended by 1634 participants, representing 57 countries, including 795 students.

The Hague, the third largest city in The Netherlands is the seat of the government and is internationally recognized as the city of justice and peace, having hosted the world's first peace conference in 1899. The Hague is a pleasant, green, and cosmopolitan seaside city with an attractive historical city center, many parks. It is home to many world-class museums, such the Mauritshuis (with famous paintings of Vermeer, Rembrandt, Rubens, and many other Dutch and Flemish masters), the Gemeentemuseum (with a unique collection of Mondriaan paintings), the Escher Museum, and the extraordinary Panorama Mesdag, a single painting museum with a panoramic view of Scheveningen.

The scientific theme of the meeting "Electrochemistry: from sense to sustainability" underscored the key role of electrochemistry as a fundamental discipline for important applications contributing to a better and more sustainable society.

The annual meeting started with three tutorial lectures on Sunday afternoon:

- Nanoscale Electrochemical Imaging (Patrick Unwin and Marcel Rost)
- Electrochemical Instrumentation (Tamás Pajkossy and Soma Vesztergom)
- Water Desalination by Capacitive Deionization: Introduction & Basic Concepts (Maarten Biesheuvel and Matthew Suss)

The delegates were welcomed by Christian Amatore (President), Manuela Rueda (Secretary General), Marco Musiani (Executive Secretary), Marc Koper and Maarten Van Brussel (Cochairs of the conference), Karsten Klein (Deputy Mayor of the city of Den Haag) and Gregory Shapiro (in disguise) who introduced the audience to traditional Dutch cabaret.

The scientific contributions from the participants were extensive and excellent in quality. Five plenary lectures were presented by George Whitesides (Harvard University, USA), Linda Nazar (University of Waterloo, Canada), Anders Nilsson (University of Stockholm, Sweden), Serge Lemay (Twente University, The Netherlands) and Yuri Pleskov (A.N. Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry, Russia) who presented the Frumkin Memorial Medal lecture.

Alongside the plenary lectures, the scientific program of the conference included 52 keynote lectures, 511 oral communications and 1013 posters, distributed over a total of 20 symposia.

A special Electrochemistry in Action symposium was organized on Wednesday with invited contributions from speakers for the industry. This symposium was coupled to special excursions to the chlor-alkali plant of Akzo Nobel, in the harbor of Rotterdam, and to the conservation department of the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam.

The traditional conference banquet was held at the Kurhaus, a landmark building of the beach of Scheveningen. During this event, the winners of the poster prizes were announced.

We congratulate all the delegates for their excellent oral and poster presentations contributing to the high scientific quality of the meeting. We would also like to recognize the student helpers for their dedication and enthusiastic help during the conference. Thanks are also due to the members of the Organizing Committee and the Symposium Organizers for their efforts in making the meeting a success. The organization of the meeting is in great debt to the staff of the ISE Office whose efforts were essential in the conference preparation. We also appreciate the help of all who contributed in any way to the organization, sponsorship and success of the Meeting.

A special issue of the Society's journal, Electrochimica Acta, is planned based on selected original contributions made at the conference. Selection will be made by an international editorial committee comprising editors and guest editors, one for each of the symposia in which the meeting was articulated.

The Special Issues Editor, Sergio Trasatti, will co-ordinate the action of the editorial Committee and will be directly responsible for the review procedure. The Special Issue is planned to accommodate up to 180 papers.

Submission timespan: August 27th – December 18th, 2016.