## Report on the 10th ISE Spring Meeting, April 15–18, 2012, Perth, Australia

The 10<sup>th</sup> Spring Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry was held in Autumn at the University of Western Australia in Perth Australia, from April 15<sup>th</sup> to 18<sup>th</sup> 2012. The theme of the meeting was "New approaches to nanostructuring electrodes for electroanalysis and energy storage" which involved ISE Division 1 (Analytical Electrochemistry) and ISE Division 3 (Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage). The meeting was an outstanding success, attracting 285 participants from 31 countries. This was the first time an ISE meeting was held in Australia.

The Opening ceremony on Sunday evening, April 15 with a Welcome reception at the University of Western Australia. The program for the following three days from Monday to Wednesday included six main sessions, each starting with a keynote lecture (40 min) which was followed by three parallel sessions. The program included 6 keynote lectures, 36 invited lectures, 88 oral presentations, 95 posters and an instrument exhibition. Each of the parallel sessions had invited lectures (30 min) and oral presentations (20 min). Keynote lectures were given by Ganesan Nagasubramanian (USA) "Reducing Liion Safety Hazard Through the Use of Non-flammable Solvents", Lyn Beazley (Australia) 'Super Science and Engineering in Western Australia" Joe Wang (USA) "Catalytic Nanomachines: Design and Applications", Justin Gooding (Australia) "Making Silicon Water Friendly: An Approach to Producing Stable Oxide Free Silicon For Electrochemcial Applications", François Béguin (Poland) "Development of a high voltage graphite/carbon hybrid capacitor" and Ulrich Stimming (Singapore) "Nanotechnology in Energy Conversion and Storage".

## The Best Poster Prize winners were:

<u>Division 1 - Analytical Electrochemistry</u>

Fernando Cortés Salazar (Laboratoire d'Electrochimie Physique et Analytique (LEPA), Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland) Stephen Parker (School of Chemistry, The University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia)

## Division 3 - Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage

Alar Jänes (University of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia)

Young Bok Kim (School of integrated technology/Yonsei university, Incheon, Korea)

Christopher Reilly (Department of Chemistry, University of Newcastle, Callaghan, Australia)

We were fortunate that Perth put on her best autumn weather to greet all our overseas and interstate visitors during the whole conference. During the conference dinner, held on the Tuesday evening in the University of Western Australia staff club, a beautiful warm evening saw delegates stand on the balcony overlooking the Swan river with the night lights of central Perth reflecting off the water. Some wine was consumed.

We would like to thank all participants for your excellent scientific contributions! We were unsure how many people would make the long journey to Australia and so we thank you for coming in such large numbers and making the week such a success. We would also like to thank the Organizing Committee, Local Organizers, Student helpers and especially the ISE Office for your precious help in organizing the meeting. Financial support from sponsors the Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE), The Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI), Government of Western Australia Department of Commerce, Elsevier, Prodigital and Bio-Lofic SAS and exhibitors Ivium Technologies, Pine Research Instrumentation, Metrohm Autolab B.V./Metrohm Nordic and eDAQ is gratefully acknowledged. Thank you all for making the 10<sup>th</sup> ISE Spring Meeting a success!

Manickam Minakshi, (Chair of the 10<sup>th</sup> ISE Spring Meeting) Justin Gooding, Alan Bond

Number of participants in the 10<sup>th</sup> ISE Spring Meeting per country: Australia-98, Korea-44, China-21, Taiwan-16, Japan-14, France-12, United Kingdom-10, Poland-9, Germany-9, Singapore-7, South Africa-5, Czech Republic-4, Canada-4, USA-4, Estonia-3, New Zealand-3, Brazil-3, Switzerland-2, Denmark-2, Sweden-2, Latvia-2, Italy-2, Russia-1, Finland-1, Ireland-1, Portugal-1, Indonesia-1, Slovenia-1, India-1, Belgium-1, Greece-1.