Report on the 11th Spring/Topical Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry at Georgetown University, Washington DC, USA

The 11th ISE Spring Meeting in Washington DC, USA, was held from May 23-25 on the beautiful campus of Georgetown University. The theme of the meeting was "Theoretical and Computational Electrochemistry". The meeting was preceded by a two-day ISE Training School on the same theme, which was also held on campus. This training school was the first ISE training school organized in conjunction with an ISE Meeting.

The Training School (21-22 May) had 26 participants, mostly PhD students and postdocs from USA, Europe and China, and consisted of tutorial lectures in the morning by experts in various subjects of computational electrochemistry (Thomas Allison, Mike Janik, Eckhard Spohr, Timo Jacob, Ezequiel Leiva and Marc Koper), and practical hands-on tutorial sessions delivered by two companies producing computational chemistry codes (Materials Studio by Accelrys and Amsterdam Density Functional (ADF) by SCM). The sessions were well attended and there was plenty of time for interaction and discussion.

The Meeting itself was attended by 101 participants from the Americas, Europe and Asia, and included 9 keynote lectures (by Wolfgang Schmickler, Allen Bard, Alexei Kornyshev, Hector Abruna, Emily Carter, Matthew Neurock, Michiel Sprik, Patrik Unwin, and Nenad Markovic) 19 invited lectures, 19 contributed lectures, and 39 poster contributions. The level of the lectures and posters was very high and the size of the meeting stimulated many discussions. The meeting started with a reception on Tuesday evening at the Georgetown University Hotel, and included a well-attended conference dinner in the same hotel on Thursday evening.

We would like to express our gratitude to the Tong group members for all their logistical support before and during the meeting, and to our co-organizers Matthew Neurock, Carlos Gonzalez, Mike Janik and Ezequiel Leiva for their help and support in organizing this successful event.

YuYe Tong, Marc Koper Co-chairs