Report on the 13th ISE Topical Meeting, April 7 – 11, 2013, Pretoria, South Africa

The 13th Topical Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry was held at the International Convention Centre of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR ICC) in Pretoria, South Africa, from April 7th to 11th 2013. The theme of the meeting was "Advances in Electrochemical Materials Science and Manufacturing" which involved ISE Division 4 (Electrochemical Materials Science) and ISE Division 5 (Electrochemical Process Engineering and Technology). The meeting was a huge success, attracting 218 participants from 25 countries. This was the first time an ISE meeting was held in Africa.

The Opening ceremony on Sunday afternoon (April 7) was followed with a plenary lecture and three keynote lectures, and then a Welcome reception at the CSIR ICC. The program for the following three days from Monday to Wednesday included three different symposia (i.e., *Electrode Fabrication & Engineering; Electrochemical Sensors, and Electrochemical Energy Technologies*), each day starting with a plenary lecture (40 min) which was followed by three parallel sessions. The program included 5 plenary lectures, 11 keynote lectures, 131 oral and invited lectures, 77 posters and an instrument exhibition. Each of the parallel sessions had keynote lectures (30 min) and oral presentations (20 min). Plenary lectures were given by Tebello Nyokong (South Africa) *"Methods of Electrode Surface Modification Using Porphyrin-type Molecules and Nanomaterials"*, Richard G Compton (UK) *"Electrochemical Studies of Nanoparticles"*, Haruo Akahoshi (Japan) *"Electrochemical copper deposition technology in the electronic industry"*, John Miller (USA) *"Highly-reversible Electrical Energy Storage: Technologies,Applications, and Societal Impact"*, and Reginald M Penner (USA) *"Lithographically Patterned Nanowire Electrodeposition (LPNE): Advances and Applications"*.

The Best Poster Prize (a certificate and EUR 300 cash), sponsored by Division 4, was won by Ms Thato Tshephe (Tshwane University of Technology, Pretoria, South Africa), "Electrochemical Characteristics of Titanium-Manganese-Ruthenium Oxide Composite Electrodes for Electrochemical Capacitors".

Throughout the conference, Pretoria offered her best autumn weather that greeted all our overseas and interstate visitors, affording some visitors the opportunity to experience the amazing African wildlife. The conference dinner was held on Tuesday evening at the Moyo Zoo Lake (Johannesburg) where the visitors had the unique experience of typical evening of fine-dining and soulful African vibes. At the dinner, the South African Region of the ISE recognised some academics who have been at the forefront of teaching and research in electrochemistry in the country: AM Crouch, I Cukrowski, El Iwuoha, PLR Loyson, V Linkov, and T Nyokong.

A workshop on "Practical Electrochemical Sensors with Relevance to Africa" was held on Thursday, 11 April, 2013. This was sponsored by the ISE Millennium Fund, and was organised by Janice Limson.

We sincerely thank all participants for your excellent scientific contributions and making the 13th TM ISE a memorable one! We were apprehensive about the number of people that would be brave to make the long journey to bottom end of the Southern hemisphere (South Africa) and so we thank you for coming in such large numbers and being part of the history. We thank the Organizing Committee, Local Organizers, Student helpers and especially the ISE Office for your precious help in organizing the meeting. We gratefully acknowledge the financial support from the CSIR, Department of Science and Technology, Hydrogen South Africa (HySA), Maccor Inc., National Research Foundation (NRF), Technology Innovation Agency (TIA), DropSens S.L., Elsevier, Electrochemical Society (ECS), Sasol, American Elements, Metrohm Autolab B.V., MinTEK, Rhodes University, and University of the Western. Thank you a million times!

Number of participants in the 13th ISE Topical Meeting per country: South Africa (118), Germany (14), France (12), Poland (11), USA (10), UK (9), Japan (7), Nigeria (5), Czech Republic (4), Korea (4), Brazil (3), China (3), Singapore (3), Ireland (2), Italy (2), Turkey (2), Argentina (1), Austria (1), Estonia (1), Kuwait/Egypt (1), Mexico (1), Netherlands (1), Spain (1), Switzerland (1) and Taiwan (1).

Kenneth I Ozoemena

(Conference Chair)