Report on the 15th Topical Meeting, April 27 – 30, 2014, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

The 15th Topical Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) was held at the Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls – Fallsview Hotel, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada, from April 27th to 30th 2014. The theme of the meeting was "Interfacial Electrochemistry at Atomic, Molecular, and Nanoscale Domains", which was organized by ISE Division 6 (Molecular Electrochemistry) and Division 7 (Physical Electrochemistry). This very successful meeting attracted 228 participants spanning 31 countries, and provided a scientific program that included four keynote lectures presented by Jacek Lipkowski (Canada), N.J. Tao (USA), Masatoshi Osawa (Japan) and Daniel Belanger (Canada), 142 oral and invited lectures, 79 posters, and five instrumentation exhibitors. The meeting featured a broad range of recent advancements in theoretical, experimental, and applied interfacial electrochemistry with an emphasis on atomic, molecular and nanoscale domains.

The opening ceremony took place on the afternoon of Sunday, April 27, and was followed by a keynote and five invited lectures. A welcome reception was then held in the Fallsview ABC Room, which features a spectacular view of the falls. The program commenced in earnest with daily keynote lectures, and proceeded in three parallel sessions on Monday and Tuesday, with two parallel sessions on Wednesday. Seven interconnected symposia were undertaken: Adsorption and charge transfer; Spectroelectrochemistry; Advanced imaging techniques; Quantum chemical approaches and theoretical modeling; Organic and coordination electrochemistry; Electrochemical surface processes; and Modern applications of interfacial electrochemistry.

The poster presentations were displayed in the large Niagara room, which also facilitated the keynote lectures and one of the parallel sessions. The poster session began on Monday evening, and presenters had the opportunity to set up their posters that morning. All posters were on display over the entire duration of the meeting at an easily accessible and convenient location, which allowed for their maximum exposure. Five Best Poster Prizes, each of which garnered a certificate and \$300 CAD, were presented by ISE President Hasuck Kim to five graduate students and postdoctoral fellows: Philipp Bron (Univ. of Marburg, Germany), Bhushan Gadgil (Univ. of Turku, Finland), Jessica Groppi (Queen Mary Univ. of London, UK), Scott R. Smith (Univ. of Guelph, Canada), and Zhangfei Su (Univ. of Guelph, Canada). These prizes were sponsored by Division 6 and Division 7.

This meeting provided excellent and ample opportunities for participants not only to convey and discuss in depth the most recent advancements in interfacial electrochemistry, but also to forge new friendships and collaborations. All participants shared breakfasts and lunches in the Rainbow Room, which also provided a fantastic view of the falls from the 10th floor of the hotel, as well as a Tuesday gala dinner, which took place in the Niagara Room. We also prepared special events during the course of the meeting to celebrate Professor Jacek Lipkowski's 70th birthday, and to congratulate Professor Sharon Roscoe's Honorary ISE Membership. The weather was very cooperative; clear skies and sunshine with warm temperatures prevailed on April 27 and 28, which allowed participants to take in the beauty and grandeur of Niagara Falls. The weather over the ensuing two days was such that it encouraged participants to focus on the scientific program of the meeting.

We would like to sincerely thank all participants for their excellent scientific contributions as well as to provide an exciting, comfortable and friendly atmosphere. We also greatly appreciate all those who contributed to the success of the meeting, in particular, the international organizing committee, the student helpers, the ISE office, the sponsors (Lakehead University (LU) and the Faculty of the Science & Environmental Studies of LU) and the five companies that participated in the exhibition.

On behalf of the organizing committee, Aicheng Chen