Report on the 19th ISE Topical Meeting- Auckland, New Zealand, 17-20 April 2016



The 19th Topical meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry was held at the University of Auckland. The 220 delegates came from 35 countries, with 44 % from Asia, 24 % from Australia and New Zealand and 22 % from Europe. A list of delegates by country is at the end of this report.

The theme of the meeting, which was sponsored by Divisions 1 and 4, was 'Electrochemistry at Modified Interfaces'. Four keynote lectures, 11 invited lectures, 90 contributed orals and approximately 100 posters presented broad ranging research, emphasising the importance of modified interfaces in analysis, smart materials, energy generation and storage, corrosion and biological electron transfer. Many papers presented advances in electrocatalytic electrodes, especially for hydrogen and oxygen evolution reactions and another important area was new materials and new insights into interfaces relevant to supercapacitors and batteries.

The meeting started with a welcome reception on Sunday evening and a brief opening ceremony on Monday morning where delegates were welcomed by Professor Jim Metson, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at the University of Auckland. The opening keynote lecture was presented by Professor Justin Gooding (University of new south Wales, Sydney, Australia), speaking on 'Light activated electrochemistry: A strategy for performing voltammetry on a monolithic surface where you want, when you want with micron scale spatial resolution'. After lunch on Monday, Professor Ulrich Stimming (Newcastle University, UK) gave the second keynote lecture: 'Vanadium Electron Transfer on Modified Carbon Electrodes'. Tuesday morning's programme began with a keynote lecture by Professor Mary Ryan (Imperial College London, UK): 'Understanding the Bioreactivity of Nanoparticles: Toxicity and Therapeutics' and Professor Jadranka Travas-Sejdic (University of Auckland, NZ), delivered the final keynote on Wednesday morning: 'Polymer Brushes Grafted Conjugated Polymers for Biomedical Applications'.

Three oral sessions ran in parallel throughout the meeting, which finished at noon on Wednesday. Invited speakers were: Hubert Girault (EPFL, Switzerland), Anthony O'Mullane (Queensland University of Technology, Australia), Anthony Kucernak (Imperial College London, UK), Richard McCreery (University of Alberta, Canada), Nick Birbilis (Monash University, Australia), Byungchan Han (Yonsei University, Korea), Neso Sojic (University of Bordeaux), Viola Birss (University of Calgary, Canada), Zong-Qun Tian (Xiamen University, China), Frédéric Barrière (University of Rennes, France) and Alan Bond (Monash University,

Australia). The single poster session (Monday evening) was enhanced by local food, and wine from the University of Auckland's winery.



The conference dinner was held on Tuesday evening at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron clubrooms, in a beautiful location on the Auckland waterfront. During the evening, ISE President, Christian Amatore, gave a short address and presented poster prizes to five students:

Benjamin J. J. Austen (Curtin University, Australia); Chun-Chen Yang (Ming Chi University of Technology, Taiwan); Xinyi Chia (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore); Bicheng Zhu (University of Auckland, New Zealand) and Camilo Gonzalez-Vargas (Universidad de Santiago de Chile, Chile).

Finally we wish to thank all the participants who contributed to a very successful meeting, with a special 'thank you' to our Organising Committee, the session chairs and our student helpers. Many thanks to Thierry Lenzin and Kathleen Vionnet (ISE office) and Aimee Crawshaw from Events Services, University of Auckland, who ensured the smooth planning and running of the meeting, and also to Sharron Hickman, Exclusive Tours, who provided travel and tour advice to many delegates. Financial sponsorship from The University of Auckland and Prodigitek is gratefully acknowledged and we thank the exhibitors who participated in the meeting.

Alison Downard and David Williams *Co-chairs, 19th Topical meeting*

Number of participants at the 19th Topical meeting, per country: Republic of Korea: 37; Australia: 35; China: 22; New Zealand: 17; Japan: 15; France: 14; Poland: 10; Taiwan: 10; Chile: 7; Singapore: 5; India: 4; USA: 4; United Kingdom: 4; Switzerland: 2; Brazil: 3; Canada: 3; Netherlands: 3; Malaysia: 2; Romania: 2; Czech Republic: 2; Portugal: 2; New Caledonia: 2; Italy : 2; South Africa: 2; Spain: 1; Israel: 1; Germany: 1; Latvia: 1; Denmark: 1; Ireland: 1; Turkey: 1; Belgium: 1; Austria: 1; Finland: 1.