International Society of Electrochemistry


facebook linkedIn

Zhaowu Tian Prize for Energy Electrochemistry


Rules for the Zhaowu Tian Prize for Energy Electrochemistry

SUBMISSION OF AWARD APPLICATION: All correspondence, whether by mail or email and including that for awards joint between ISE and other societies, should be sent to the ISE Office.

The Zhaowu Tian Prize for Energy Electrochemistry was donated by Chinese scientists to honour the former ISE Vice President Prof. Zhaowu Tian.
It may be awarded annually to a scientist of less than 40 years of age on January 1st of the year of the award, in recognition of her/his recent achievements in the field of electrochemistry for energy. The age limit may be extended, upon request of the applicant, for example due to formal period(s) of maternal, paternal or adoptive leave, compulsory leave for civil or military service, illness or other exceptional circumstances. The applicant is asked to provide evidence in support of their extension request. This evidence has to be submitted as a part of the curriculum vitae. Each application for extension will be considered individually by the award committee.



The prize consists of a certificate and the sum of 2000 Euro.


Candidates should apply on their own behalf.


The application should consist of the following items:

  1. curriculum vitae

  2. list of publications

  3. maximum of five of the most relevant publications

  4. a statement of no more than 1000 words highlighting the applicant's contributions to fundamental and/or application of electrochemistry in energy storage and conversion including, but not limited to, electrocatalysis, photoelectrochemistry, electrosynthesis of fuels, electroactivation of small carbon-based molecules, fuel cells and biofuel cells, batteries, and supercapacitors.

  5. maximum of three recommendation letters.


The application should be uploaded via the Submission Site. All documents uploaded must be in PDF format.


The prize winner is selected by a committee consisting of three members appointed by the ISE Executive Committee and two members appointed by the Chinese Society of Electrochemistry. The members elect the committee chair. Re-appointment in successive editions of the Prize is possible.


The prize is presented to the recipient at the Awards Session of the Annual ISE Meeting in the following year, where the winner is expected to give a 40-minute award lecture. ISE will pay for her/his registration and banquet fee.


Unsuccessful candidates may re-apply in a subsequent year, provided that they still meet the requirements.

Award is closed


Previous winners
Xiangfeng Duan (2017), Fabio La Mantia (2018), Z. Xu (2019), Q. Zhang (2020), J. Rodriguez Lopez (2021), V. Presser (2022), Carlo Santoro (2023).