International Society of Electrochemistry


facebook linkedIn

ISE Honorary Members

Honorary Members are appointed by the Executive Committee, after consultation with the Council, primarily in recognition of their contribution to ISE. The total number at any time is limited to ten.


The first Honorary Member of ISE, appointed in the year 2003, was Otmar Dossenbach, Treasurer of the Society for 21 years (1980-2000) and Executive Secretary for 2 years (2001-2002).


Two new Honorary Members were appointed in the year 2004: Roger Parsons, former President of the Society (1981-1982) who passed away on 4th January 2017, and Sergio Trasatti, former President of the Society (1989-1990) and Editor-in Chief of Electrochimica Acta (2003-2013).


Three Honorary Members have been appointed in the year 2005: Ron Armstrong, former Editor-in-Chief of Electrochimica Acta for 18 years, and two former Presidents of the Society, Dieter Landolt (1987-1988) and Elton Cairns (1999-2000).


In the year 2011, Sharon Roscoe was appointed Honorary Member for her valued contribution as Secretary General. She passed away on December 9th, 2015.

Marco Musianiwas appointed Honorary Member in 2019 for his extraordinary service  in the capacity of Executive Secretary supporting  the Society during its unprecedented growth between 2003 and 2018.


Thierry Lenzin was appointed Honorary Member in 2020 for his valued contribution as ISE Office Manager between 2001 and 2019.