International Society of Electrochemistry


facebook linkedIn

ISE Scientific Meetings Committee (SMC)


A major component of ISE's mission is the organization and sponsorship of scientific meetings within the broad field of electrochemistry. In order to maximise the impact and effectiveness of its activities towards this goal, ISE has established a Scientific Meetings Committee (SMC).


The membership of the SMC is appointed by the Executive Committee and is drawn from the Executive Committee itself and Chairs of ISE Annual Meetings or Topical Meetings. Through this combination, it represents the long term financial planning of the Society, the expertise of meetings organization and the scientific and technical interests of Society Members.


The SMC receives proposals for themes and locations of Annual and Topical Meetings. These are considered in the light of the relevant Guidelines, the benefits to both individual Members and their enhancement of the Society's mission. Implementation and administration (through the ISE Office) of these scientific meetings will be monitored by the SMC. The SMC is also able to help with ISE sponsorship of regional and special topics meetings, either by Society-wide support or by appropriate liaison with the technically relevant Division(s). This sponsorship may take the form of financial support, administrative or publicity assistance (for example, via the Society website) or endorsement of the meeting. For any of these activities, SMC representatives will be pleased to provide informal guidance in advance of formal submission of meetings or sponsorship proposals.


The SMC's role is an advisory one: it makes recommendations and suggestions to the ISE's decision-making body, the Executive Committee. There are no deadlines for submission of proposals to the SMC, but submissions made by March 1 and August 1 will be considered by the SMC in time to make recommendations to the EC at its meetings in March/April and September (at the Society Annual Meeting).


Composition of the Scientific Meetings Committee
Jaeyoung Lee chair
Katharina Krischer, observer ex-officio as President
Plamen Atanassov, ex-officio as President Elect
Monica Santamaria, ex-officio as Treasurer
Francesca Soavi, ex-officio as Secretary General
Silvia Cere
Rakel Wreland Lindstrom

Raphael Berger, non-voting member, representative of the ISE office
Petr Krtil, observer ex-officio as Executive Secretary